Named Appointments

Many of our faculty hold endowed professorships, chairs, and named scholarly appointments. They have used the endowments to initiate new areas of research, to support graduate student work, and to bring prestigious visiting scholars to the department. Students, in turn, benefit from their association with top-notch faculty engaged in innovative research and teaching.

An endowed chair embodies the highest honor the university can bestow on prominent faculty. By providing dedicated resources for research and teaching opportunities, these positions enable our most gifted faculty to excel in their scholarly activities. Similarly, faculty who hold a named professorship are celebrated for teaching, research, and the caliber of thinking that inspires both.


Shiv Kapoor Grayce Wicall Gauthier Chair
Bill King Ralph A. Anderson Endowed Chair
Huseyin Sehitoglu John, Alice and Sarah Nyquist Chair


Naira Hovakimyan University Scholar


Gaurav Bahl George B. Grim Professor
Quinn Brewster Hermia G. Soo Professor
Geir Dullerud W. Grafton and Lillian B. Wilkins Professor
Randy Ewoldt Alexander Rankin Professor
Placid Ferreira Tungchao Julia Lu Professor
Nick Glumac Shao Lee Soo Professor
Naira Hovakimyan W. Grafton and Lillian B. Wilkins Professor
Elizabeth T. Hsiao-Wecksler Grayce Wicall Gauthier Professorship in Mechanical and Industrial Engineering
Tony Jacobi Richard W. Kritzer Distinguished Professor
Harley T. Johnson Founder Professor in Mechanical Science and Engineering
Tonghun Lee Bei Tse Chao and May Chao Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Moshe Matalon Caterpillar Distinguished Professor
Nenad Miljkovic Founder Professor in Mechanical Science and Engineering
Taher Saif Edward William and Jane Marr Gutgsell Professor
Petros Sofronis James W. Bayne Professor
D. Scott Stewart Shao Lee Soo Professor Emeritus
Brian G. Thomas C.J. Gauthier Professor Emeritus
Charles L. Tucker III Alexander D. Rankin Professor Emeritus
Alexander Vakakis Donald Biggar Willett Professor


Harry Dankowicz Cannon Faculty Scholar
Geir Dullerud Willett Faculty Scholar
Alison Dunn Andersen Faculty Fellow
Elif Ertekin Andersen Faculty Scholar
Nick Glumac Cannon Faculty Scholar
Sascha Hilgenfeldt Willett Faculty Scholar
Naira Hovakimyan Schaller Faculty Scholar
Pega Hrnjak Stoecker Faculty Fellow
Kelly Stephani Kritzer Faculty Fellow
Amy Wagoner Johnson Andersen Faculty Scholar
Matt West William H. Severns Faculty Scholar

Support our faculty with a named endowment

Kendra Wolf

Contact: Kendra Wolf
Associate Director of Advancement
(217) 300-7297

Endowments are one of many ways to participate in the future of MechSE >> Learn more