Pearlstein named APS Fellow


MechSE professor Arne Pearlstein has been named a Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS), an honor bestowed to no more than one half of one percent of the society’s membership.

Pearlstein has been a member of APS since 1976. He received his PhD in engineering in 1983 from UCLA, where he had also received M.S. and B.S. degrees in engineering in 1977. He then joined the faculty at the University of Arizona, where he served as an assistant professor in the Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering and the Department of Chemical Engineering until 1989. He then came to the University of Illinois as an associate professor, becoming a full professor in 2000.

In his research, Pearlstein conducts computational and analytical studies of incompressible flow, with applications to materials processing—including directional solidification of alloys and electronic materials, electrodeposition, and electrophoresis—and other mass transfer processes. He also investigates hydrodynamic stability vortex shedding and chemically reacting systems. He is currently working to develop proper orthogonal decomposition models of dynamic flight maneuvering using virtual control surfaces generated by trapped vorticity.

The criterion for election as an APS Fellow is exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise; e.g., outstanding physics research, important applications of physics, leadership in or service to physics, or significant contributions to physics education. Fellowship is a distinct honor signifying recognition by one's professional peers.

The American Physical Society ( is a non-profit membership organization working to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics through its outstanding research journals, scientific meetings, and education, outreach, advocacy and international activities. APS represents over 50,000 members, including physicists in academia, national laboratories and industry in the United States and throughout the world. Society offices are located in College Park, MD (Headquarters), Ridge, NY, and Washington, DC.