skip to main content

Ewoldt receives honor from Society of Rheology


Bill Bowman

MechSE assistant professor Randy Ewoldt has been awarded the 2014 Arthur B. Metzner Early Career Award by the Society of Rheology.

Ewoldt received this recognition "for his outstanding contributions to the field of Large Amplitude Oscillatory Strain (LAOS) rheometry, as evidenced by his exceptional independent publication record, attainment of a distinguished list of early career awards and grants, and commitment to education and service regarding the rheology community," according to the notification from the Society of Rheology.

He will officially receive the award at the October 2014 Meeting of the Society of Rheology and will give a plenary lecture as part of the award recognition.

The Metzner Award is given, at most annually, to a member of the Society of Rheology who is younger than 35 and has distinguished him/herself in rheological research, rheological practice, or service to rheology. The Society of Rheology is composed of physicists, chemists, biologists, engineers, and mathematicians interested in advancing and applying rheology, which is defined as the science of deformation and flow of matter.

Ewoldt and his group study rheology with a combination of experiment and theory, with an eye toward design based on rheological behavior. Specific materials of interest include polymer gels, yield stress fluids, and suspensions of actively swimming particles. The research includes development of new rheometry methods that are material-agnostic and therefore applicable to all rheologically complex materials. Ewoldt has been an early leader in the fast-growing field of Large Amplitude Oscillatory Shear (LAOS) experiments and has contributed greatly to the understanding of these new measurements.

Ewoldt joined the MechSE Department in 2011 after a postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Minnesota. He received PhD and MS degrees in mechanical engineering from MIT after earning a BS degree in mechanical engineering at Iowa State University.