Aluru wins ASME Ted Belytschko Award


Narayana Aluru
Narayana Aluru
Narayana Aluru was named the recipient of the 2020 Ted Belytschko Award from ASME’s Applied Mechanics Division. He was honored for “outstanding contributions to nanomechanics by developing advanced computational techniques and multiscale approaches, revealing novel mechanics at small scales, and providing leadership to the computational mechanics community.”

The award is given annually to an individual for significant contributions to the innovation, research, design, leadership, or education of engineering mechanics. 

Over the last several decades, Aluru’s research group has worked at the intersection of mechanical engineering with electrical, materials, physics, and chemistry. His research addresses the fundamental mechanics and computational challenges associated with nanofluidics and nano and microelectromechanical systems (NEMS and MEMS).

Aluru is a Richard W. Kritzer Distinguished Professor, and has been at Illinois since 1998, as an assistant professor. He holds affiliate positions in the departments of Bioengineering and ECE.