Sehitoglu honored for career contributions to study of materials


Huseyin Sehitoglu has won the 2022 TMS Morris Cohen Award.

Written by

Huseyin SehitogluMechSE professor Huseyin Sehitoglu has been named the 2022 recipient of the Morris Cohen Award from TMS (The Minerals, Metals and Materials Society).

This award recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the science

and/or technology of materials properties. Sehitoglu’s career includes contributions in the area of thermo-mechanical fatigue and the advancement of knowledge of fatigue of metals. His work has focused on experiments that employ a wide range of techniques to tackle problems of technological importance, along with micromechanical and atomistic modeling. His findings have impacted the understanding of fatigue of metals and alloys and elucidated the behavior of shape memory materials, both at the basic level related to fundamentals, and at the level of engineering aspects relevant to technological applications.

Sehitoglu will formally receive the award at the TMS-AIME Annual Awards Ceremony on March 2 during the TMS 2022 Annual Meeting in Anaheim, California.

Sehitoglu holds the John, Alice and Sarah Nyquist Chair, and joined MechSE in 1983 as an assistant professor. His research group in the High Temperature Materials Laboratory focuses on thermomechanical fatigue, fatigue crack closure, stress-induced phase transformations, cyclic ratcheting plasticity, slip and twinning in metals.

Share this story

This story was published January 10, 2022.