Sehitoglu receives prestigious Tau Beta Pi Daniel C. Drucker Award


Huseyin SehitogluMechSE professor Huseyin Sehitoglu was selected to receive the 2021 Tau Beta Pi Daniel C. Drucker Eminent Faculty Award from The Grainger College of Engineering.

The award was established in 1985 and recognizes faculty for their dedication to academic excellence and exemplary contributions to their field.

Sehitoglu, who is the John, Alice and Sarah Nyquist Chair, directs the High Temperature Materials Laboratory at UIUC. During his career he has significantly advanced scholarship related to thermomechanical fatigue, fatigue crack closure, stress-induced phase transformations, cyclic ratcheting plasticity, slip and twinning in metals.

He has earned many recognitions for his research in addition to the Drucker award. He received ASME’s Nadai Medal in 2007 for outstanding contributions at the interface of materials science and mechanics. In 2009, he gave the Fatigue Lecture at the ASTM meeting in recognition of his sustained contributions to the area of materials fatigue. In 2016, Sehitoglu was awarded honorary membership to DVM (German Association for Materials Research and Testing), the most well-known Materials Research Society in Germany. In 2018, he was one of seven eminent people awarded an honorary doctorate from Aalto University, the top university in Finland. Last year, he won the Khan International Award in the Field of Plasticity for lifetime contributions to plasticity of metals. Demonstrating his far-reaching contributions over decades, he has also placed many of his former doctoral students in academic positions on the faculty of top institutions.