Nine from MechSE named top engineering advisors


An impressive nine of MechSE's outstanding faculty and staff were honored this year with the Engineering Council Award for Excellence in Advising. The 2017 winners are:
Gaurav Bahl, Assistant Professor
Missy Biehl, Undergraduate Programs Coordinator
Alison Dunn, Assistant Professor 
Elif Ertekin, Assistant Professor
SungWoo Nam, Assistant Professor
Arne Pearlstein, Professor
James Phillips, Professor Emeritus
Mariana Silva, Adjunct Assistant Professor, Curriculum Development Coordinator, and Lecturer 
Sam Tawfick, Assistant Professor
The nine from MechSE make up an impressive half of the 18 winners of this award. Recipients are nominated by their students and represent the top 10 percent of engineering advisors across the college. Engineering Council is the students’ voice in the College of Engineering. It is a union of engineering student societies and committees that offer leadership opportunities and foster interdisciplinary relationships within the College of Engineering.
Honorees will accept their awards at the College of Engineering Faculty Awards Ceremony on April 24, 2017.