MechSE alumni Ioannou, Lin elected to NAE


Petros Ioannou and Chao-Hsin Lin
Petros Ioannou (left) and Chao-Hsin Lin

MechSE alumni Petros Ioannou (MSME ’80) and Chao-Hsin Lin (PhDME ’89) were elected as new members of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE).

Election to the NAE is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature" and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education." 

After earning his master’s degree in mechanical engineering, Dr. Ioannou completed his PhD in electrical engineering at Illinois as well. He is the Balakrishnan Chair and professor in the Viterbi School of Engineering, University of Southern California, Los Angeles. He was elected for contributions to robust adaptive control and intelligent transportation systems for improved traffic flow and driver safety.

Dr. Lin is a technical fellow for the Boeing Company in Seattle. He was elected for the development of aerospace environmental control systems to ensure the safety and well-being of passengers and crew.

Three current Grainger College of Engineering faculty members, one former faculty member, and ten alumni were elected among the 111 total new NAE members. This brings the total U.S. membership to 2,388.

Individuals in the newly elected class will be formally inducted during the NAE's annual meeting on Oct. 2, 2022.