News Archive

Sara Moshage

Moshage named 2020 Beckman Graduate Fellow

May 20, 2020 - PhD student Sara Moshage, working with MechSE professor Mariana Kersh, was one of just seven from campus to be awarded a Beckman Institute Fellowship.
William King

Belkin moves toward manufacture of Illinois RapidVent design

May 18, 2020 - The global consumer electronics leader is collaborating with Illinois researchers including project leader William King from MechSE.
Sam Tawfick

Ewoldt, Flachsbart, Tawfick earn teaching recognitions

May 14, 2020 - Professors Ewoldt, Flachsbart, and Tawfick were named as several of the most impactful teachers.
Madeleine Gandawidjaja

MechSE senior bound for PepsiCo after diverse college career

May 13, 2020 - Madeleine Gandawidjaja (BSME ’20) is the only graduating senior on the Illinois women’s tennis team, having walked on during her junior year. She will go on to a job at PepsiCo after graduation.
Leon Liebenberg

From trash to treasure: Liebenberg teaches design for repurposing in ME 270

May 13, 2020 - In the ME 270 “Design-for-Repurposing” final project, students were asked to design a prototype for emergency medical equipment, such as a ventilator or face mask, using repurposed materials and products.
Nenad Miljkovic

Miljkovic named a top young engineer in manufacturing

May 11, 2020 - Nenad Miljkovic was one of the 2020 winnners of the Ronald P. Harrelson Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award from SME.
Taher Saif

Saif receives SES honor

May 10, 2020 - MechSE Professor Taher Saif has been named 2020 Engineering Science Medalist by the Society of Engineering Science.
Naira Hovakimyan

Hovakimyan student uses AI to tackle overuse of fertilizer on crops

May 5, 2020 - To tackle the agricultural issues caused by excess fertilization, Alexandre Barbosa started developing four different convolutional neural network (CNN) architectures for predicting yield.
Nenad Miljkovic

Miljkovic, UAE collaborators uncover phenomenon to enhance heat transfer performance

May 1, 2020 - "This work throws considerable light on cloaked condensate droplet dynamics, and how it can affect heat transfer performance, suggesting promising guidelines for enhancing the efficiency of such operations,” said Nenad Miljkovic.
Taher Saif.

Saif team identifies T-shirts as potential mask material

May 1, 2020 - Making a homemade COVID mask? MechSE Professor Taher Saif explains best fabric choices.
Ken Gall

Gall re-purposing surgical helmets in COVID-19 battle

May 1, 2020 - MechSE alumnus and Duke University professor Ken Gall's team is creating a powered air-purifying respirator.

Chamorro, colleagues engineering novel protective mask

April 28, 2020 - The novel, highly-efficient, virus-preventive respirator mask was inspired by nasal structures of animals with enhanced olfactory sensitivity.
Covalence student movement

Illinois undergrads lead global student movement to fight COVID-19

April 27, 2020 - Covalence, a nearly 2,000-strong group of students from around the world, is making demonstrating the impact students can have through virtual collaboration.

Hommema at center of massive mask-cleaning breakthrough

April 27, 2020 - NBC News reports that MechSE alumnus Kevin Hommema's idea spurred $415M in funding for new decontamination systems.
Face shield

MechSE team vital to face shield production

April 26, 2020 - MechSE's Machine Shop and Rapid Prototyping Lab are helping produce face shields for health professionals responding to the COVID-19 pandemic.
Ty Newell Build Equinox

Build Equinox tech named one of coolest things made in Illinois

April 24, 2020 - The CERV2 home air ventilation system is design and built by Build Equinox, the company founded by alumni Ben Newell and Alex Long and Professor Emeritus Ty Newell.
Kyle Cheek, Joe Maduzia, Marcia Mathis, Julia (Stackler) Park

MechSE announces staff award winners

April 17, 2020 - Kyle Cheek, Joe Maduzia, Marcia Mathis, and Julia (Stackler) Park each will receive the 2020 MechSE Staff Award for Exemplary Service.

Study reveals unique physical, chemical properties of cicada wings

April 17, 2020 - MechSE professor Nenad Miljkovic is part of a team researching how the insects' wings repel water and kill microbes.
Amy LaViers

LaViers’ work featured in NAE publication

April 16, 2020 - Amy LaViers' research on complex robotic movement - utilizing her expertise in both dance and engineering - is explained in a Q&A with The Bridge, a publication from the National Academy of Engineering.
Ning Wang

Physical force alone spurs gene expression, study reveals

April 13, 2020 - Professor Ning Wang is leading the research published in Science Advances.