News Archive

The Vavriks

Alumnus Vavrik paying it forward

June 28, 2018 - A gift from Bill Vavrik (BSME ’57) has established the William and Marie Vavrik MechSE Engineering Visionary Scholarship Fund.
Amy Wagoner Johnson

MechSE launches pre-med track, names Wagoner Johnson first advisor

June 25, 2018 - MechSE undergrads will soon be able to follow a prescribed track of courses to qualify for medical school.
Dave Wright

Sargent & Lundy joins the Campaign to Transform MEB

June 22, 2018 - Nine S&L executives recently joined together to give a $500,000 gift toward MechSE’s Transform MEB campaign.
Ricardo Robles

Scholarship Impact: Ricardo Robles

June 22, 2018 - Ricardo Robles was the recipient of the 2017-2018 Edward E. & Lillian Hussemann Memorial Scholarship.
Anthony Jacobi and Xiaofei Wang

Jacobi, Wang receive Department of Energy funding for solar desalination

June 20, 2018 - MechSE faculty members Anthony Jacobi and Xiaofei Wang will receive $1.6 million in funding from the Department of Energy.
Pouyan Karimi

Karimi awarded competitive CSE fellowship

June 13, 2018 - TAM doctoral student Pouyan Karimi earns a second year as a Computational Science and Engineering Fellow, for 2018-2019.
Randal Lewis

Lewis named consumer products president at Spectrum

June 12, 2018 - MechSE alumnus Randal D. Lewis (BSME ’88) has been named to the position of President of a new Consumer Products group at Spectrum Brands Holdings, Inc.
Mohamed Radwan

Scholarship Impact: Mohamed Radwan

June 12, 2018 - Mohamed Radwan was the recipient of the 2017-2018 Helen McDonnell Memorial Scholarship.
Orpheum Senior Design exhibits

Student-created museum exhibits first of their kind for Senior Capstone Design Program

June 8, 2018 - Champaign's Orpheum Children's Science Museum, along with the campus and community, celebrated the grand opening of two new MechSE undergraduate-designed-and-built interactive exhibits.
Rube Goldberg Society

Rube Goldberg Society second in nation for pouring a bowl of cereal the hard way

June 5, 2018 - Illinois was one of six university teams to compete in the Rube Goldberg Machine Contest, challenged with the task of pouring a bowl of cereal in the most complicated way possible.
Professor Taher Saif

Saif first Koiter Medal winner from Illinois

June 4, 2018 - ​MechSE professor Taher Saif has been named the 2018 recipient of the Warner T. Koiter Medal from ASME.
ME 370 robot design

ME 370 robots race again

June 1, 2018 - In May, ME 370 students' robots competed in a race on the Bardeen Quad to determine which team had built the fastest robot.
M. Quinn Brewster

Brewster returns to roots in new research

May 31, 2018 - MechSE professor M. Quinn Brewster is trying to answer environmental questions surrounding global warming and climate change.

Marshall named Earthway president, CEO

May 30, 2018 - MechSE alumnus John Marshall (BSME ’95) has been named President and CEO for Earthway Products Incorporated.
Sharanya Subramaniam

Grad student Subramaniam to present her research at Women in Aerospace Symposium

May 24, 2018 - PhD candidate Sharanya Subramaniam, a researcher in Kelly Stephani's Computational Kinetics Group, was chosen to present her work at the Women in Aerospace Symposium at the end of this month.
Nenad Miljkovic

Miljkovic awarded ASME/PTS Gold Medal for work in phase change heat transfer

May 24, 2018 - Nenad Miljkovic was awarded the ASME/Pi Tau Sigma Gold Medal, a competitive honor among young investigators.
Dylan Harmon

Scholarship Impact: Dylan Harmon

May 24, 2018 - Dylan Harmon was the recipient of the 2017-2018 LyondellBasell Futures in the Chemisphere Scholarship.
Huseyin Sehitoglu

Sehitoglu honored by Finnish university

May 22, 2018 - Professor Huseyin Sehitoglu will receive an honorary doctorate from the Aalto University schools of technology.
Martin Ostoja-Starzewski

Ostoja-Starzewski awarded ASME Worcester Reed Warner Medal

May 17, 2018 - Professor Martin Ostoja-Starzewski was honored for his book, "Microstructural Randomness and Scaling in Mechanics of Materials."
IRISE Elif Ertekin

Scholars in Ertekin’s IRISE program offer engineering design ideas for wheelchair users

May 16, 2018 - The IRISE outreach program, co-directed by Professor Elif Ertekin and assisted by Education Coordinator Joe Muskin, works with high school students in the community to challenge them with hands-on engineering projects.